

# Minutes of the 2017 Annual General Body Meeting of the Zoroastrian Association of Houston

The Annual General Body Meeting of the Zoroastrian Association of Houston ("ZAH") was held on November 12, 2017 at the Zarathushti Heritage and Cultural Center ("ZHCC"), 8787 West Airport Blvd., Houston, TX 77071 at 2:00 p.m.

The ZAH EC members present were, Zeeba Kayani, Aderbad Tamboli, Mitra Khumbatta, Sheroy Haveliwala, Lyla Daroga and Percy Master.

Jasmin Katrak had requested to be excused.

Aderbad Tamboli chaired the meeting.

After the Invocation, the meeting was convened.

Aderbad Tamboli announced that the quorum had not been established – 122 members were required to establish quorum, but only 97 attended the meeting. Jehangir Shroff motioned that the meeting be held without quorum, which Rustom Engineer seconded, and was unanimously approved.

Khushrav Nariman motioned approval of the agenda, which was seconded by Kamalrukh Gandhi, and unanimously approved.

The minutes of the AGM held in 2016 as well as all the subcommittee reports that had been provided were posted prior to the meeting on the ZAH website. Kamalrukh Gandhi motioned approval of the minutes which was seconded by Tenaz Sunavala, and unanimously approved.

The various ZAH subcommittees then presented their annual reports, which had been previously posted onto the ZAH website:

- 1. The Chairperson's Report was presented by Aderbad Tamboli.
- 2. The Treasurer's Report was presented by Mitra Khumbatta.
  - a. A motion to align the financial year with the calendar year was put forward and unanimously approved.
- 3. The Vision2020 Report was presented by Kayomarz Sidhwa.
- 4. The Youth Report was presented by the ZAH Youth Committee.
- 5. The Entertainment Committee report was presented by Yasmin Medhora, Zia Anklesaria, Tenaz Sunavala, Nozer Dungor and Farrokh Firozgary.
- 6. The Investment Management Team report was presented by Jamshed Elavia.
- 7. The Building Maintenance Sub-Committee report was presented by Aderbad Tamboli.
- 8. The Sports Committee report was presented by Sheroy Haveliwala.
- 9. The Legacy 2000 Scholarship report was presented by Aderbad Tamboli.
- 10. The ZAH CZARES Subcomittee was introduced by Aderbad Tamboli.
- 11. The Atash Kadeh Committee report was presented by Khushrav Nariman and Feroze Bhandara.
- 12. The NAZC2020 Committee report was presented by Kayomarz Sidhwa.
  - a. The winning theme of the congress will be: Generation Z: Propelling the Zarathushti



## Resurgence.

- 13. The Outreach Committee report was presented by Kaemerz Dotiwala.
- 14. The Web Committee report was presented by Danesh Desai and Kayomarz Sidhwa.

## **Gahambar Proposal**

A proposal for ZAH to host 6 free gahambars annually was made by Kaemerz Dotiwala. Aderbad Tamboli, on behalf of the EC presented arguments why this should not be accepted; the biggest being that this would require \$36-\$48K annually to be spent on the 6 gahambars which would add additional financial burden on the ZAH.

#### **Election of New EC Members**

The Executive Committee members' terms expiring in 2017 were:

- Aderbad Tamboli Member
- Zeenba Kayani Member
- Mitra Khumbatta Treasurer

For these open positions, the Executive Committee received nominations for Nozer Dungor and Sweta Sethna. Mitra Khumbatta was renominated for the position of Treasurer. A ballot election was unnecessary, and all the nominated candidates will be confirmed as elected unopposed once the followon meeting has been held.

#### Conclusion

There being no other business, Sheroy Haveliwala proposed a vote of thanks to the Chair, who then declared the meeting closed.

Since quorum was not met for this meeting, a follow-on meeting will be scheduled between 10-30 days from this date per ZAH's by-laws.

Recorded by Percy M. Master ZAH Secretary



# Minutes of the 2017 Follow-on Meeting of the Zoroastrian Association of Houston

Per ZAH bylaws, a follow-on meeting to the AGM 2017 AGM was held on 12/10/17 at the ZHCC due to a lack of quorum at the AGM held in November. The meeting was attended by 47 members.

The ZAH EC members present were, Aderbad Tamboli, Sheroy Haveliwala, Lyla Daroga, Jasmin Katrak and Percy Master. Zeeba Kayani and Mitra Khumbatta had requested to be excused.

Jehanbux Mehta proposed that the quorum requirements be waived for this follow-on meeting, and this was unanimously approved by all present.

Aderbad Tamboli proposed that the meeting held on 11/12/17 be considered a town hall meeting and that the agenda for today's meeting be the same as that of the November meeting. This was unanimously approved by all present.

### **Election of New EC Members**

Nozer Dungor and Sweta Sethna were elected unopposed to the new 2017-2018 executive committee, replacing Aderbad Tamboli and Zeeba Kayani. Mitra Khumbatta was elected unopposed as Treasurer.

### **Gahambar Proposal**

A proposal for ZAH to host 6 free gahambars annually was made by Kaemerz Dotiwala, with voluntary donations from the attendees. Kaemerz stated that this should be seen as an educational, ritualistic effort for the youth, and was willing to amend the proposal to have one free gahambar annually.

A discussion was held on this topic, with several members opposing any mandated gahambar requirements.

Feroze Bhandara proposed an amendment to the original resolution that ZAH should be required to provide one gahambar supported by voluntary donations only, with the stipulation that Feroze and Shernaz Bhandara would make up any shortfall. The amendment was seconded by Jehangir Shroff, and was voted down by 9 votes for, vs. 22 votes against. The original proposal for the 6 free gahambars was then voted upon, and was unanimously turned down.

#### Conclusion

There being no other business, Sheroy Haveliwala proposed a vote of thanks to the Chair, who then declared the meeting closed.